Skip to main content

The 18th day meeting of the 11th regular session of  Second Pyithu Hluttaw was held yesterday at Pyithu Hluttaw building in Nay Pyi Taw.

In the morning session, Pyithu Hluttaw approved the appointment of MP Dr. U Win Aung of KhinU constituency as the member of the Economic and Financial Development Committee, and U Htay Min Thein of Gyobingauk constituency as member of Government’s Guarantees, Pledges and Undertakings Vetting Committee.

Afterwards, Pyithu Hluttaw Deputy Speaker U Tun Tun Hein presented the duty, responsibilities, rights and term of the Women and Children’s Rights Committee.

Formation of Women and Children Rights Committee

Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker U T Khun Myat then reported to the Hluttaw that the 15-member Women and Children’s Rights Committee would be formed with members Dr Daw Khin Soe Soe Kyi of Pyay constituency, U Win Naing of Mogaung constituency, Daw Nan Than Than Lwin of Hpa-an constituency, Daw Wint Wah Htun of Shawdaw constituency, Daw Ni Shwe Hlwan of Thantlan constituency, Dr A Zin Latt of Shwebo constituency, Daw Khin Sandi of Launglon constituency, Daw Mi Kon Chan of Paung constituency, Daw Yin Min Hlaing of Gangaw constituency, U Naing Htoo Aung of Natogyi constituency, Daw NanKhin Saw of Kunhing constituency, Daw Khin Saw Wai of Yathedaung constituency, Dr. Daw Shwe Pon of Bago constituency, Dr. Daw Kyi Moh Moh Lwin of Singaing constituency and Tatmadaw representative Tatmadaw Representative Colonel Myint Cho, Chairperson Dr Khin Soe Soe Kyi of Pyay constituency, and Secretary Dr. Daw Kyi Moh Moh Lwin of Singaing constituency.

14 farmland of No.13 Boksu in Salingyi Township

U Win Thein Zaw of Salingyi constituency asked a question if the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Irrigation has a plan to release the farmland of 141 farmers in Salingyi Township from the forest reserve area. In his reply to the question, Deputy Minister for Agriculture, Livestock and Irrigation U Hla Kyaw said the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Conservation had already answered the question that the ministry has no plan to release the farmland which are listed in 2013 as the farmland established in the forest reserve without permission.

The Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Irrigation has responsibility to grant land use form-7 only to the farmland which were excluded from the list of forest reserve areas in accordance with the 2012 Farmland Law.

Development of seed sector

A motion submitted by U Aung Kyi Thein, Chaungzon Constitutioncy, urging the Union Government to speed up the efforts for development of seed sector which is one of the main resource for farmers.

In his discussion, Dr. U Maung Thin of Meiktila constituency urged the Union Government to educate farmers about quality seeds as it would be helpful for farmers to realize their misunderstanding about seeds.

“We should take example from troubles caused by import of low-quality seeds,” he said.

The MP also stressed the need to stop using low-quality seeds in the agricultural sector.

Following the discussion of eight MPs, Deputy Minister U Hla Kyaw said the Union Government is making efforts for development of the seed industry in the country with the use of own budget and international assistance.

The Union Government has established laboratories in Nay Pyi Taw, Yangon and Mandalay with foreign aid to test the quality of seeds.

Efforts are being made to produce quality seeds not only for rice industry but also for other crops including edible oil crops, beans and pulses with the aim producing sufficiently for domestic consumption sufficiently and export. Afterwards, Pyithu Hluttaw Speaker sought the approval from the law makers to approve the motion and announced the approval.

Reference: GNLM

February 28, 2019